Download Full Text (281 KB)
(Reprinted from La Salle: A Quarterly La Salle University Magazine, Spring 1994)
The Wister Family owned four homes on the Belfield estate. Two buildings survive: "Belfield"--or "Peale House"--itself, and the "Mary and Frances Wister Fine Arts Studio" (built by the William Rotch Wisters in 1868). The William Rotch Wisters' stunning second house, "Wister," was built in 1876 on the side of Clarkson Avenue opposite from the Arts Studio; "Wister" was donated to Fairmount Park in 1949 and demolished in 1956.
American Material Culture | American Studies | Cultural History | History | Women's History
Butler, James A., "Home Where "The Mansion" Was" (1994). Local History Essays. 3.